AFRAID

AFRAID

Helpless is what I’ve become

My hands tied up in chains

Indignity is all over me

For the sake of loving

 

Yet my heart keep on longing

To be sanitized by the same love

That has taught me to trust no one

And be cautious of everything

 

Hoping to be accepted as I am

Imagining the sentiments of William Shakespeare

Trying hard to stop loving

Memories of what is love keep on pestering

 

Yet my whole being is tainted

Ashamed to be recognised

Then I am not ready

To be seen for who I am

 

~Mntazi Mtsweni~

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

