DROWNING

 

I am recovering ego artist

That was crushed by the other

Now I can’t stand up and see beyond the wall

My vision is now blurred, I can’t focus when my eyes are wet

My self-esteem is pushed down every time I try to get up

My heart has given up on longing for freedom

My neck can’t support my head high because of strangulation

The Chains on my feet make noise, I can’t run far

Every time I try to move, the click click sound alerts the guard

I’m trapped in a body of a dying ego

Worthless is what I see when I look in the mirror

I’m naked! All my clothes were cut by a pair of scissors

 

~Mntazi Mtsweni~

 

Leave a Reply

